Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Official Community Forums

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  The Wiki  Website  github Project  

Contributing to server codebase and dev-environment

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
ggraz
ggraz

Contributing to server codebase and dev-environment Empty
PostSubject: Contributing to server codebase and dev-environment   Contributing to server codebase and dev-environment EmptyMon 7 May - 22:26

Hello
I'm new to the forums and to multiverse; I think the project could greatly benefit (and I'd like to contribute, i'm an experienced java developer, but I did never contribute to game projects before) from some code refactoring/re-organization.
I have in mind a couple of things right now:
- leverage on threading
right now the server spawns a lot of vms, one for each component/module; I like the modularity of agents which communicate via tcp or sockets but that looks suboptimal here. (maybe someone with more knowledge of the architecture could arise some good reasoning on why it is as it stands right now)
- hibernate integration
This involves a big refactoring of classes. We get in exchange multi-dbms compatibilty and or-mapping obviously (a connection pool maybe, I can be wrong but i think there isn't one right now). I've seen that sql queries are still written as concatenated string built to feed jdbc statements.
- maven-isation
this would greatly improve the build system. cleaning of libraries from code-base, inherent modularization. I haven't digged inside ant build script yet to see if there are some pitfalls though